rating button
Children's book awards | Birmingham City Council

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Check out the latest advice, service disruptions, information and support about Coronavirus (COVID-19) Latest updates

Children's book awards

Blue Peter Book Award

Started in 2000, aiming to choose and reward the best authors and illustrators of children’s books.

Branford Boase Award

Set up in 2000 in memory of Henrietta Branford, who wrote novels for children and young people and of Wendy Boase, founder and editorial director of Walker Books. They both died in 1999. The Award is given to ‘promising new writers’ and their publishers.

The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Children's Book Award

Established in 1936 by the Library Association, with the first award being made in 1937. The Association eventually turned into ‘CILIP’ (Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals). The award is often referred to as The Carnegie Medal. It has a sister award, The Greenaway Medal, which is given for illustration. They are often referred to in combination as The Carnegie Greenaway Awards, or the CILIP Carnegie Greenaway Awards.

Costa Book Award

Started in 1971, although at that point it was called The Whitbread Library Awards. In 1985 the name changed to The Whitbread Book Awards, finally becoming the Costa Book Award in 2006.