Birmingham City Council financial challenges - time to Reset

To find out more about the budget and section 114 notice visit our budget information page

Progression into Higher Education (HE)

Disabled Students’ Allowances

The systems in place to support disabled students to study at level 4 and above in an FE college or university are known as Disabled Students’ Allowances (DSAs).

These are non-repayable grants that assist with the additional costs incurred by disabled students.

They also apply to those studying HE in an Further Education (FE) environment. DSAs fund a range of support, including assistance with the cost of specialist equipment, travel and non-medical helpers (for example sign language interpreters).

Disabled Students’ Allowances (DSAs) Application Form and Process

If you wish to attend a maintained school sixth form, general Further Education College, specialist provision or independent provision, visit the SEND Local Offer post-16 transition page.

Page last updated: 11 October 2023

rating button