Online forms unavailable

Some of our online forms may be unavailable on Saturday 25 November between 7am and 7.30pm due to essential maintenance. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Planned library closures

All libraries will be closed on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day.

Some community libraries are closed on a Tuesday following a Bank Holiday. Please check your local library page for more information.

Planned closures

We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Library of Birmingham

Please be aware that the Terraces on Level 3 and 7, the Skyline and Shakespeare Memorial Room on level 9 could be closed without notice. These may be due to inclement weather, essential maintenance or a private event.

  • 3rd floor terrace - no planned closures
  • 7th floor terrace - no planned closures
  • Shakespeare Memorial Room and level 9 - no planned closures

Community libraries

Tower Hill Library - closed Tuesday 5 December for electrical works.

Kings Heath library - closed from Monday 20 November 2017 until Monday 11 December 2017 for installation of self-service kiosks.

Christmas closures

Library of Birmingham

The Library of Birmingham will close for Christmas at 5pm on Saturday 23 December 2017. It will open again at 9am on Wednesday 27 December 2017 and will operate normal opening hours until 5pm on Saturday 30 December 2017 when it will close for New Year.

It will reopen at 9am on Tuesday 2 January 2018.

Community libraries

All community libraries will be closed for a 9 day period (3 of these days are bank holidays - Christmas Day, Boxing Day, 1 January 2018). Saturday 23 December 2017 will be a half day closure.

Community libraries will re-open with normal hours on Tuesday 2 January 2018.

Castle Vale library

Castle Vale library will close at 6pm on Thursday 21 December 2017 and reopen at 9am on Tuesday 2 January 2018