Library closures

Library of Birmingham

Please be aware that the Terraces on Level 3 and 7, the Skyline and Shakespeare Memorial Room on level 9 could be closed without notice. These may be due to inclement weather, essential maintenance or a private event.

Children's and music libraries

Please be aware that due to the recent flood damage, there may still be some issues when using this department.

Wolfson Centre (for archival research) closure weeks

  • Closed from Monday 27 April 2020, reopening 5 May 2020
  • Closed from Monday 14 September 2020, reopening 22 September 2020
  • Closed from Monday 28 December 2020, reopening 5 January 2021

Community libraries

Mere Green library will be closed on Tuesday 11 February 2020 due to staff training.

Small Heath library will close at 4:40pm on a Saturday due to a football fixture at Birmingham City Football Club.

Weoley Castle library is currently having a new boiler installed. It is anticipated this will be completed by end of January 2020. During this time on very cold days the library will be open 10am to 3pm. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Bank Holidays 2020

All libraries will be closed

Easter Friday 10 April and Easter Monday 13 April 2020. Closure Saturday 11 April to be decided.

Bank Holiday Friday 8 May instead of Monday 4 May 2020

Bank Holiday Monday 25 May 2020

Bank Holiday Monday 31 August 2020

Christmas Day Friday 25 December, Boxing Day Monday 28 December 2020 and New Years Day Friday 1 January 2021. Closure over the rest of the Christmas period to be decided.

Kings Norton library is closed on the Tuesday following a bank holiday.

rating button