Archives and collections

There are two main services you can use:

  • Heritage Research Area for printed local and family history, genealogy, maps, local newspapers
  • Wolfson Centre for Archival Research is the search room for archival collections, photographs, early printed material. Please note that an appointment is needed to use the Wolfson Centre. (A reader’s ticket is also required – please see our section on CARN tickets for details).

Heritage Research Area

This service is available during the following hours:

  • Monday and Tuesday: 11am to 7pm
  • Wednesday to Saturday: 11am to 5pm

Wolfson Centre for Archival Research

  • Tuesday: 11am to 7pm
  • Wednesday and Thursday: 11am to 4:30pm
  • Saturday (1 in 4, listed below): 11am to 4pm
    • 3 March 2018
    • 31 March 2018
    • 21 April 2018
    • 26 May 2018
    • 23 June 2018
    • 21 July 2018
    • 18 August 2018
    • 15 September 2018
    • 13 October 2018
    • 10 November 2018
    • 8 December 2018

Revised opening hours during February 2018

Due to unforeseen circumstances, we have had to alter some of our opening hours during February. The following days are affected:

Early closing

  • Tuesday 13 February - Wolfson Centre will close at 5pm
  • Tuesday 20 February - Wolfson Centre will close at 5pm

Late opening

  • Wednesday 21 February - Wolfson Centre will open at 1pm
  • Thursday 22 February - Wolfson Centre will open at 1pm

Planned closures (Wolfson Centre only)

  • Monday 23 April 2018, reopening on Tuesday 1 May 2018
  • Monday 3 September, reopening on Tuesday 11 September 2018
  • Monday 24 December, reopening on Wednesday 2 January 2019