Online forms unavailable

Due to essential maintenance, some of our online forms will be unavailable on Thursday 18 October from 6pm to Saturday 20 October 8pm. We apologise for any inconvenience this may cause.

Archives and collections

There are two main services you can use:

  • Heritage Research Area for printed local and family history, genealogy, maps, local newspapers
  • Wolfson Centre for Archival Research is the search room for archival collections, photographs, early printed material. Please note that an appointment is needed to use the Wolfson Centre. (A reader’s ticket is also required – please see our section on CARN tickets for details).

Heritage Research Area

This service is available during the following hours:

  • Monday and Tuesday: 11am to 7pm
  • Wednesday to Saturday: 11am to 5pm

Wolfson Centre for Archival Research

Please check our library closures page for closures affecting the Wolfson Centre.

  • Tuesday: 11am to 7pm
  • Wednesday and Thursday: 11am to 4:30pm
  • Saturday (1 in 4, listed below): 11am to 4pm
    • 15 September 2018
    • 13 October 2018
    • 10 November 2018
    • 8 December 2018
    • 5 January 2019
    • 2 February 2019
    • 2 March 2019
    • 30 March 2019
    • 27 April 2019
    • 25 May 2019
    • 22 Jun 2019
    • 20 July 2019
    • 17 August 2019
    • 14 September 2019
    • 12 October 2019
    • 9 November 2019
    • 7 December 2019

Planned closure weeks

  • Closed from Monday 3 September, reopening on Tuesday 11 September 2018
  • Closed from Monday 24 December, reopening on Wednesday 2 January 2019
  • Closed from Monday 29 April, reopening on Tuesday 7 May 2019
  • Closed from Monday 2 September, reopening on Tuesday 9 September 2019
  • Closed from Monday 23 December, reopening TBC
rating button