Waste dispute resolution

Return to weekly household waste collections. Find out more – including your collection day

Library Closures

Library of Birmingham

Please be aware that the Terraces on Level 3 and 7, the Skyline and Shakespeare Memorial Room on level 9 could be closed without notice. These may be due to inclement weather, essential maintenance or a private event.

Bank holiday closures

Please be aware that libraries will be closed on the following bank holidays:

  • Good Friday - Friday 19 April 2019
  • Easter Monday - Monday 22 April 2019
  • Early May bank holiday - Monday 6 May 2019
  • Spring bank holiday - Monday 27 May 2019
  • Summer bank holiday - Monday 26 August 2019

Libraries will also be closed on Easter Saturday 20 April 2019 except the following which will be open:-

Birchfield  /  Erdington  /  Harborne  /  Northfield  /  South Yardley  /  Sparkhill  /  Sutton Coldfield  

Wolfson Centre (for archival research) closure weeks

  • Closed from Monday 29 April, reopening on Tuesday 7 May 2019
  • Closed from Monday 2 September, reopening on Tuesday 9 September 2019
  • Closed from Monday 23 December 2019, reopening TBC

Community libraries

Druids Heath library - health and safety closure

The library is currently closed until further notice due to water damage sustained as a result of a boiler leak. A mobile library service has commenced and will visit Idmiston Croft on Mondays, 1:30pm to 3:30pm on a weekly basis. Work has commenced on repairing the heating system and the library will reopen as soon as possible.

Handsworth Library

The library will be closed until 2pm on Friday 22 March 2019 to allow for staff training.

Ward End Library

Ward End Library has a reduced service on Thursday 21 March 2019, and is unable to offer a benefit verification service due to staffing issues.

The library will be closed until 2pm on Thursday 28 March 2019 for staff training.

rating button