Updated plan for waste collections

We apologise for any disruption to our household, rubbish and recycling service, which is a result of industrial action. Find out more about your collection day

Library Closures

Library of Birmingham

Please be aware that the Terraces on Level 3 and 7, the Skyline and Shakespeare Memorial Room on level 9 could be closed without notice. These may be due to inclement weather, essential maintenance or a private event.

Wolfson Centre (for archival research) closure weeks

  • Closed from Monday 29 April, reopening on Tuesday 7 May 2019
  • Closed from Monday 2 September, reopening on Tuesday 9 September 2019
  • Closed from Monday 23 December 2019, reopening TBC

Community Libraries

Birchfield Library

The library will be closed all day on Thursday 21 February 2019 for staff training.

Druids Heath Library - health and safety closure

The library is currently closed until further notice due to water damage sustained as a result of a boiler leak. A mobile library service has commenced and will visit Idmiston Croft on Mondays, 1:30pm to 3:30pm on a weekly basis.

Handsworth Library

The library will be closed between 10am to 1pm for staff training on Thursday 24 January 2019. It will reopen at 20pm for normal service.

The library will be closed for building work from Monday 11 February 2019 to Saturday 16 February 2019.

The Library will be closed all day on Thursday 21 February 2019 for staff training.

Kings Heath Library

The library will be closed between Saturday 26 January and Tuesday 5 February to allow for urgent building repairs . We apologise for any inconvenience caused by this.

The library will be closing at 4pm each day until further notice.

Shard End Library

The Library will be closed all day on Thursday 21 February 2019 to allow for staff training.

Weoley Castle Library

The library will be closed all day on Thursday 21 February 2019 for staff training.

rating button