Scheduled maintenance

Due to scheduled maintenance some of our online and payment forms may be unavailable on Wednesday 20 November 2019, 7:00pm to 8:00pm, We apologise for any inconvenience.

Library closures

Library of Birmingham

Please be aware that the Terraces on Level 3 and 7, the Skyline and Shakespeare Memorial Room on level 9 could be closed without notice. These may be due to inclement weather, essential maintenance or a private event.

Children's and music libraries

Parts of the Music Library remain closed due to remedial works following heavy rain. There is currently no access to Beatbox. Please ask staff for details regarding which collections are accessible.

There is full access to the books and spaces in the Children’s Library, with limited access to the library kiosks and information points for membership, issuing and returning items.

We apologise for any disruption. We are working towards getting this resolved as soon as possible.

Wolfson Centre (for archival research) closure weeks

  • Closed from Monday 23 December 2019, reopening 31 December 2019
  • Closed from Monday 27 April 2020, reopening 5 May 2020
  • Closed from Monday 7 September 2020, reopening 15 September 2020
  • Closed from Monday 28 December 2020, reopening 5 January 2021

Community libraries

Harborne library will close on Tuesday 12 November 2019 for essential building work and will reopen in the New Year. Verification service will not be available between 12pm to 2pm Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday.

Small Heath library will close at 4:40pm on a Saturday due to a football fixture at Birmingham City Football Club.

Ward End library will be closed from Monday 18 November 2019 to Tuesday 10 December 2019. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Bank holiday closures

All libraries will be closed Christmas Day (Wednesday 25 December 2019), Boxing Day (Thursday 26 December 2019) and New Year's Day (Wednesday 1 January 2020).

Only the Library of Birmingham will be open Christmas Eve (Tuesday 24 December 2019) and New Year's Eve (Tuesday 31 December 2019) and will close at 5pm.

The following Libraries will be open on Friday 27 December, Saturday 28 December and Monday 30 December:

  • Library of Birmingham
  • Erdington
  • Hall Green
  • Handsworth
  • Northfield
  • Quinton
  • Sutton Coldfield

Frankley Library will be closed Monday 23 December 2019 and re-open Monday 6 January 2020.

Kings Norton library is closed on the Tuesday following a bank holiday.

rating button