Planned library closures

Online library services

There will be a limited online service due to an upgrade to our systems from Saturday 19 May at 5pm until Wednesday 23 May at 10am.

During this time you will not be able to:

  • join our libraries, either online or in person
  • renew any items - any items due from 19 to 23 May must be renewed in advance
  • access our catalogues, either online or in person
  • place reservations

You will be able to borrow and return items in person at a library, but will need to bring your library card and PIN with you.

Computers in our libraries will be available for use; please ask a member of staff if you have difficulties in booking a computer or signing on for your session.

Bank holiday closures

All community libraries and the Library of Birmingham will be closed on Spring Bank Holiday, Monday 28 May. Some community libraries may also be closed on Tuesday 29 May. Please check with your local library for more information.

Library of Birmingham

Please be aware that the Terraces on Level 3 and 7, the Skyline and Shakespeare Memorial Room on level 9 could be closed without notice. These may be due to inclement weather, essential maintenance or a private event.

Wolfson Centre (for archival research) closure weeks

  • Closed from Monday 3 September, reopening on Tuesday 11 September 2018
  • Closed from Monday 24 December, reopening on Wednesday 2 January 2019

Community Libraries

Hall Green Library

Hall Green Library will be closed from Monday 4 June for approx 7 weeks to refurbish the Children’s Library following the flood damage last May. We hope to reopen on Monday 23 July. We apologise for any inconveniance.