Key announcements this weekend

Due to essential maintenance, some of our forms will be unavailable. We apologise for any inconvenience. As a result of the current industrial action we have temporarily introduced fortnightly waste collections. Find out your collection day:

Library Closures

Library of Birmingham

Please be aware that the Terraces on Level 3 and 7, the Skyline and Shakespeare Memorial Room on level 9 could be closed without notice. These may be due to inclement weather, essential maintenance or a private event.

Bank holiday closures

Please be aware that libraries will be closed on the following bank holidays:

  • Good Friday - Friday 19 April 2019
  • Easter Monday - Monday 22 April 2019
  • Early May bank holiday - Monday 6 May 2019
  • Spring bank holiday - Monday 27 May 2019
  • Summer bank holiday - Monday 26 August 2019
  • Some community libraries will be closed on additional days over Easter. This page will be updated when confirmed

Wolfson Centre (for archival research) closure weeks

  • Closed from Monday 29 April, reopening on Tuesday 7 May 2019
  • Closed from Monday 2 September, reopening on Tuesday 9 September 2019
  • Closed from Monday 23 December 2019, reopening TBC

Community libraries

Acocks Green library

The library will be closed from Thursday 31 January at 4pm for essential building work and a counter refurbishment. An opening date will be advised once it is known. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Balsall Heath library

The library will be closed between 9am and 1pm on Wednesday 13 March 2019 to allow for staff training.

Druids Heath library - health and safety closure

The library is currently closed until further notice due to water damage sustained as a result of a boiler leak. A mobile library service has commenced and will visit Idmiston Croft on Mondays, 1:30pm to 3:30pm on a weekly basis.

Kingstanding library

The library will be closed on Friday 22 February 2019 to allow for staff training. (This may also impact neighbouring sites – Erdington, Perry Common, Tower Hill and Sutton)

Northfield library

The library will be closed from Monday 25 February 2019 for work to be carried out. The library is due to re-open on Monday 11 March.

South Yardley library

The library will be closed from 2pm on Friday 8 March 2019 to allow for staff training.

Sparkhill library

The library will closed between 9am and 1pm on Wednesday 20 March 2019 to allow for staff training.

Ward End library

Pleae note that there will be no verification service at the library between 3pm and 6pm on Monday 25 February 2019.

 

rating button