Coronavirus (COVID-19):

Coronavirus remains a serious health risk. It’s important to stay cautious and help protect yourself and others. Please continue to follow national government advice.

Map showing sections of city covered by 20mph zones


The speed limit on residential roads and in local centres in some parts of Birmingham has been reduced to 20mph.

Central Birmingham (area A1)

Area A1 covers Hockley, Bull Ring, Highgate and Ladywood and Lee Bank.

View A1 maps

Central east Birmingham (area A2)

Area A2 covers Ward End, Saltley, Bordesley, Little Bromwich, Bordesley Green and Small Heath.

View A2 maps

Central south Birmingham (area A3)

Area A3 covers Sparkbrook North, Sparkbrook South, Pickwick Park, Balsall Heath, Cannon Hill, Kings Heath, Moseley, Park Hill and Sparkhill.

View A3 maps

Central south-west Birmingham (area B2)

Area B2 covers all of Bournbrook and Selly Park and parts of Edgbaston, Harborne, Weoley and Selly Oak, Bournville and Cotteridge, Stirchley and Balsall Heath West, Brandwood and Kings Heath. Work to install the necessary signs and lines to reduce the speed limit to 20mph is now complete. The new speed limit became live and enforceable in November 2018. Follow our week of launch activities @bham20mph.

View B2 maps


Download our toolkits to see how you and your communities can work together to create change and ultimately save lives.

rating button