Chamberlain Awards 2017 Finalists

We are delighted to announce the finalists for this year’s Chamberlain Awards. Congratulations to everyone for making it this far.  Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on 24 November at the ICC.

Employee of the Year

This very special category is to recognise those employees who have shown commitment to the council’s values in all aspects of their working life whilst delivering extraordinary successes.  The finalists for this category are:

Denise Mohammed        Angela Webley
Peter Barratt    Lisa Hopkins

Communities and Inclusion

This is an award for outstanding work centred around communities and inclusion and recognises community improvement or outstanding contribution to a community. The finalists are:-

Learning Services - Volunteering leads
Sona Odogwu  Sarah Roberts
Jasi Bridgman  
Active Streets team
Olga Sukhanova Paula Nelson
Mark Brown       Marcus Belben
Rita Kambo   Dean Murphy
Carol Dawson

Collaboration and Partnership

This award recognises those who have joined forces with another team or organisation to achieve something particularly special. The finalists are:

Eviction Panel
Diane R Jones  Jackie Coote
Nikki Whitmore   Andrew Maplethorne
Lloyd Crooks      Nicole Richards
David Fearn Shannez Miah
Clare Moody  
Active Parks Team
Kate Roberts Keith Cross
Wayne Daniels    Dean Callan
Kim Kimpton Sultana Begum
Michael Sherratt  
Nikki Bradley & the Birmingham & District Allotments Confederation
Mrs Ruksana Jalal

Leadership & Leading Through Change

This award recognises those who have led successful teams with their own brand of flair, creativity and encouragement, whilst role modelling the council values.  The finalists are:-

Baverstock Closure Team
Emma Leaman David Bishop
Laura Hendry      Lucy Dumbleton
Dave Marlow     
Lisa Gunstone
Brenda Gallagher

Local Hero

The Local Hero award recognises the excellent work done by individuals in local communities.  Nominations for this category were made by members of the public.  Finalists are:-

Paul Trevis
Nicola King and Robert Foster
Unauthorised encampments team
Bill Pegg and Dave Blakeman

Outstanding Customer Focus

This award goes to employees who have shown extraordinary people skills whilst delivering beneficial outcomes for citizens which have really made a difference.  The finalists are:-

Tiverton Road Baths
Mike Jones Sue Rogers
Cheryl Gardener  Ian Hemming
Geoff Mann  
Kerrie Titterton
Sue Amey

Team of the Year

Like the BCC Employee of the Year category, Team of the Year is to recognise those teams who have shown commitment to the council’s values in all aspects of their working life whilst delivering extraordinary successes.  The finalists for this category are:

Public Health Apprentice Model
Safina Mistry   Hashum Mahmood
Aruna Wilson        Shazia Akram
Nasreen Akhtar   Paul Campbell
Kathy Lee Kyle Stott
Shamas Khan  Andy Pepper
Margaret Way       Shankarbhai Patel
Juliette Walton Sarah Barker    
Marie Douglas Tasleem Akhtar
Taslima Akbar Alan Hepburn
Nazia Akhtar Natasha Nunes
Sylvia Thompson Angela Thomas
Abigail Wood   Joanne Smith
Susan Green Darren Canning
Zoe Bignell  
Street Scene East and Estate Team East
Andy Lane Mark Crook
Delroy Wilson   Amer Khan
Terry Godfray Assam Ali
Paul Basnett Gavin Ware
Frank Palmer Sam Carter
Jayne Fox Alex Briggs
Lee Marsh Sean Murray
Domestic Abuse Service Team
Patricia Morris  Paul Humpherston
Lilith McGrath Doreen Hannon
Gaynor O’Brien Claire Cooke
Pam Powis Cheryl Moorhouse

Next Generation

This award celebrates the young people who, while taking their first steps on the career ladder are making a huge impact on the life of the organisation.  Each intern, graduate or apprentice has been nominated by their manager as a result of making such an impression and achieving remarkable results.

Naomi Lynch Jasmine Bashford
Theodora Tsang Rhiannon Johnson
Jessica Fitzgibbon Chanelle Peters
Rajesh Sharma Nyala McIntosh
Jarrod Hazel  

Unsung Hero:

Unsung Hero nominees are colleagues who have done such a great job in their everyday role that the people they are serving have felt moved to contact us and tell us about it.  Whether its collecting our rubbish, caring for our elderly, looking after our children or looking after our parks, they are all dedicated and work hard to make a positive difference every day to people’s lives.

Kevin Killeen, Charlotte Inglis & Daniel Flaherty Ann Connor & Mary McGovern
Ricky Jones Lorna West
Ashleigh Cooper Adrian Jones
Michael McMillan, Simon Nicholls,  Kevin Ruff Courtney Campbell & Alan Wenlock
Diane McCall  

Well done to all of our 2017 Finalists!

rating button