Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Check out the latest advice, service disruptions, information and support about Coronavirus (COVID-19) Latest updates

Introductory, secure and demoted tenancies

There are three different types of tenancy: introductory tenancies, secure tenancies and demoted tenancies.

You can find out more about them in your Conditions of Tenancy.

Introductory tenancy

New council tenants are usually offered an introductory tenancy. These normally last 12 months and are like a trial period.

During your introductory tenancy, you don't have the same rights as a secure tenant. For example, you can't apply for the right to buy your home or apply to exchange your home

You automatically become a secure tenant after 12 months, unless we have either:

  • started action to evict you, or
  • extended your introductory tenancy for an extra 6 months

We may extend your introductory tenancy or take action to evict you if you break your conditions of tenancy. 

Secure tenancy

As a secure tenant, you can normally live in the property for the rest of your life, as long as you  do not break the conditions of tenancy.

Demoted tenancy

If you have breached the conditions of your tenancy, we may demote your tenancy. This is an alternative to us asking a court to evict you. A demoted tenancy usually lasts for 12 months and is like a trial period.

As a demoted tenant, you have fewer rights than both introductory and secure tenants. When you have a demoted tenancy we can end your tenancy without having to establish grounds for possession.

After 12 months on a demoted tenancy, you automatically become a secure tenant unless we have either:

  • started action to evict you, or
  • extended your demoted tenancy for a further 6 months