Give it a go

Just a few books that have perhaps have been overlooked on the shelves. Why not give them a go.

Book Reviews

These are just a sample of the books available. For a wider selection, please have a look at our recommendations on the library catalogue

Killed in Cornwall - Bolitho, Janie

DI Jack Pearce is investigating a series of burglaries and brutal attacks on young women which has broken out in Cornwall. Once again his on-off girlfriend Rose Trevelyan finds herself at the heart of the investigation.

Wrecker - Wood, Summer

It's June of 1965 when Wrecker enters the world. The war is raging in Vietnam, San Francisco is tripping toward flower power, and Lisa Fay - a young innocent from a family farm down south - is knocked nearly sideways by life as a single mother in a city she could barely manage to navigate as just one. Three years later, she's alone again. Kids aren't allowed in prison. And Wrecker, scared silent, furious, and hell-bent on breaking every last thing that crosses his path, is shipped off to live with distant relatives in the wilds of Humboldt County. Wrecker is the story of this nearly-broken boy whose presence turns a motley group of isolated eccentrics into a real family. Real enough to make mistakes. Real enough to stick together in spite of everything ready to tear them apart. For Melody, for Len, for Willow and Ruth, for Meg and Johnnie Appleseed, life will never again be the same once Wrecker signs on. And for Lisa Fay, there's one thought keeping her alive through fifteen years of hard time. One day? She'll find her son and bring him home.

Salt Creek - Treloar, Lucy

For fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Patrick Gale, this is set in Chichester, England and nostalgically recalls life in 1850s colonial Australia. 'Salt Creek is a raw and convincing addition to the canon. Treloar writes with beauty and a winning compassion.' The Times, Book of the Month

Anger mode - Tegenfalk, Stefan

Two cars collide head-to-head on a country road with little passing traffic. The collision is violent. 10-year-old Cecilia is catapulted through the windscreen and killed. Five years later, criminal detective Walter Grhn gets a perplexing case on his desk - a dead taxi driver and a killer who has no idea why he has committed the crime. The first murder is followed by more killings, all equally as brutal and apparently inexplicable. Together with his talented assistant, Jonna de Brugge, Grhn uncovers secrets that lead to the core of the judicial system itself...

Heads you win - Mount, Ferdinand

Gus Cotton is rescued from the humiliation of early retirement by an unexpected job offer. Thus it is that Gus finds himself in a trendy, minimalist, riverside office among decaying wharves in the East End, one of the Four Musketeers of Heads You Win: Executive Search for the 21st Century.

Cassandra at the wedding - Baker, Dorothy

Cassandra Edwards leaves her doctoral thesis and Berkeley apartment to drive through scorching heat to the ranch where all her family are assembled. The occasion is Judith's marriage to a young Connecticut doctor; though it won't be if Cassandra can help it.

Fishnet - Innes, Kirstin

Twenty-year-old Rona Leonard walks out of her sister Fionas flat and disappears. Six years on, worn down by a tedious job, child care and the aching absence in her life, Fionas existence is blown apart by the revelation that, before she disappeared, Rona worked as a prostitute. Determined to uncover the truth, Fiona embarks on a quest to investigate the industry that claimed her sister. Drawn into a complex world, Fionas life tilts on its axis as she makes shocking discoveries that challenge everything she's ever believed ... Bittersweet, sensual and rich, Fishnet is a beautifully told story of love and grief, interwoven with a meticulous, controversial account of the sex industry and its workers. An outstanding piece of fiction, it questions the ways in which we perceive women, their interactions with the world and with each other.

Article posted on 8 January 2020

Share and Enjoy:These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages.


Social Links