Birmingham City Council

Dyslexia Booklist for Young People

There are thousands of children's books with all kinds of characters with different worries, hopes, needs and abilities. The books in this list are about all sorts of children and young people from dog-lovers to footballers. But there are two things which the characters have in common.

The first is that they all have some difficulties with their reading, such as dyslexia. The second is that they don't let this get in the way of their other talents.

Children with Dyslexia in Fiction

Breslin, T - Whispers in the Graveyard
A gripping fantasy thriller about a dyslexic boy called Solomon who likes to hide from his home and school problems in the local graveyard. When workmen start to disturb the graves an ancient and evil power is released. Solomon finds the inner strength to face up to both this and his own problems.

Childs, Rob - Moving the Goalposts
Sam the star goalkeeper has dyslexia. An appealing comic-book format gives an authentic portrayal of Sam's literacy difficulties, but also shows his original thinking skills, when he designs new goalposts for his school.

Fine, Anne - How to Write Really Badly
This humorous story is told by know-it-all Chester, who at first is scornful of Joe's learning difficulties. However in the end he is the one who reveals Joe's extraordinary talent for model making and is an unexpected source of support.

Goodhart, Pippa - Flow
Ten year old Oliver secretly acquires a puppy to train for the local dog show. He feels they both need to prove something, as the puppy is the runt of the litter and partially deaf, and he is dyslexic. The show doesn't go as well as planned but the boy and the dog prove their courage and ingenuity on the dangerous fells.

Jarman, Julia - Ghost Writer
Frankie Ruggles DBNS (Dyslexic but not Stupid) thinks at first the stories about a ghost at his new school are just to see how gullible he is but he soon finds out it is far from a joke. He becomes involved in trying to help a boy from 100 years before who may have been dyslexic too but to his teacher was a troublesome boy. What is hidden in the cupboard at the back of room 9?

Palmer, Tom - Reading the Game
Ben is a brilliant footballer playing for United's under 12s and one day he hopes to become a professional. But there is something that his team-mates don't know - he can't read. With team sheets and game reports to follow, keeping his secret is becoming harder and harder. Eventually his actions threaten to put his place in the team in jeopardy.

Riordan, Rob - Battle of the Labyrinth
This is the fourth book in the series about Percy Jackson, a 12 year old boy who happens to be both dyslexic and the son of a Greek god! A book where a mix of magic, myths and monsters and the challenges of school make up an adventure likely to appeal to fans of Harry Potter and Artemis Fowl.

Wilson, Jacqueline - The Illustrated Mum
Dyslexic Dolphin and her sister are by turns delighted and disturbed by their depressive mum, who has a new tattoo for every celebration in their lives. The story, seen through the resourceful Dolphin's eyes, is distressing but ultimately heart warming.

Non-fiction

Condon, Judith - When It's Hard to Learn

Edwards, Nicola - My Friend Has Dyslexia
A very clear explanation of dyslexia seen through the eyes of two girls Bella and her dyslexic friend Rachel.

Ryden, Michael - Dyslexia: How would I cope?

Sanders, Pete - What Do You Know About Dyslexia and Associated Difficulties

Spillsbury, Louise - What Does it Mean to Have Dyslexia?
This book has up to date information about dyslexia and includes children talking about their personal experiences. It looks at the strengths some dyslexics have as well as the problems they face.

Wiltshire, Paula - Dyslexia
A very positive and readable book for older children, which covers what dyslexia is and how dyslexic people learn. It is very good at emphasising the potential strengths as well as the difficulties and includes sections on famous dyslexic people and hints for successful study.

Biographies of Famous People with Dyslexia

Alcraft, Rob - Anita Roddick
Alcraft, Rob - Richard Branson
Brown, Paul - Anita Roddick and the Body Shop
Connolly, Sean - Leonardo da Vinci
Ganeri, Anita - Thomas Edison
Langley, Andrew - Hans Christian Anderson
Lynch, Wendy - Walt Disney
Mason, Antony - Leonardo da Vinci
Middleton, Haydn - Thomas Edison: The Wizard Inventor
Reid, Struan - Albert Einstein
Twist, Clint - Charles Darwin, On the Trail of Evolution
Wilkins, Verna - Benjamin Zephaniah: A Profile

Barrington Stoke and Chrysalis Books

Barrington Stoke books are for children and young people with dyslexia and other reading difficulties. The books have cream paper, well-spaced text and an easy to read font. There are books for 8 to 13 year olds and others aimed at 13 to 16 year olds.

Chrysalis Children's Books produce a number of non-fiction titles which use the READtypeface. This is a clear font which has been specially produced to make reading easier for children with dyslexia and other learning difficulties.

All of these books are available from Birmingham Library Services and can be reserved free of charge. You can reserve books on-line throughBirmingham Libraries Catalogue.

Finding Support

Websites

To find out more about dyslexia, you can visit the website of the British Dyslexia Association at www.bdadyslexia.org.uk/

You could also visit the website of Listening Books, a charity which provides a postal audio book service to anyone who has a disability that makes it difficult to read in the usual way: www.listening-books.org.uk

The Dyslexia Association Birmingham (DAB) provides support to young people, parents/carers, teachers and others with an interest in dyslexia through the DAB website at www.da-bham.org and via their helpline on 0121 643 3737.


Children with Special Needs
When a book might help