Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Birmingham Photographic Society Permanent Collection

James Clark Batkin Edinburgh View c1905

The Collection consists of photographs from c1850 to 1980 including work by Charles Pumphrey, P.T Deakin, J.C Batkin, M. O. Dell, William Archer Clarke, Harold Baker, Bernard Moore, F. M. Sutcliffe, J. Cruwys Richards, E.A Beirman, Sir Benjamin Stone and Roy Thornton amongst others.

Material in the Collection includes daguerrotypes, collodion positives, albumen prints, stereographs, carbon, gum platinum, bromoil and gelatin silver prints, lantern slides, annual reports, exhibition catalogues, minute books, medals and other ephemera. The department also holds a collection of the Society's Annual Reports, Exhibition Catalogues and Journals.

An index to the Collection is available.

The Warwickshire Photographic Survey
The Benjamin Stone Collection