Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Legal Services

Legal Services has been successfully delivering quality services to Birmingham City Council and its associated organisations for a number of years. The department is currently led by Kate Charlton and Stuart Evans who became Joint Acting City Solicitor on 1 January 2016. They are also sharing responsibility for the role of the Council's Monitoring Officer.

Legal Services is the largest in-house local authority legal department in the UK and, possibly, Europe, with over 150 staff.

Every member of staff has an important part to play and the success of the department rests on the collective and individual abilities to provide a high standard of service to clients and customers.


Key Contacts for the department:

Kate Charlton - Acting Joint City Solicitor & Head of Employment Law - kate.charlton@birmingham.gov.uk
Stuart Evans - Acting Joint City Solicitor & Head of Planning & Property Law - stuart.j.evans@birmingham.gov.uk

Anthony Farmer - Head of Practice Management - anthony.farmer@birmingham.gov.uk
Charmaine Murray - Head of Adults Law & Human Rights - charmaine.murray@birmingham.gov.uk
Ian Burgess - Head of Education Law - ian.burgess@birmingham.gov.uk
Lisa Morgan - Head of Criminal & Housing Law - lisa.morgan@birmingham.gov.uk
Rob Barker - Head of Procurement Law - rob.barker@birmingham.gov.uk
Sukhwinder Singh - Head of Children's Law - sukhwinder.singh@birmingham.gov.uk
Wendy Taylor - Head of Civil Litigation & Personal Injury Law - wendy.taylor@birmingham.gov.uk

Erin Simpson - Practice Development Manager - erin.simpson@birmingham.gov.uk
Gemma Birch - Management Support Officer - gemma.a.birch@birmingham.gov.uk
Janet Lescott - PA to the City Solicitor - janet.lescott@birmingham.gov.uk

For general enquiries please call 0121-303 2066