Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Due to essential maintenance, the website may be unavailable during the weekend. We apologise for any inconvenience.

Welcome to birmingham.gov.uk

Birmingham City Council - Composition

Birmingham City Council is comprised of 120 councillors. The Labour Party currently has the majority of councillors and runs the council.

All Birmingham councillors currently belong to one of three political parties:

  • Conservative Party - 31 councillors
  • Labour Party - 77 councillors
  • Liberal Democrat Party - 12 councillors.

Lord Mayor

Councillor Shafique Shah

Lord Mayor's Office

Tel: (0121) 303 2040

Fax: (0121) 303 4809

Lord.Mayor@birmingham.gov.uk


Leader of the Council

Councillor Sir Albert Bore

Tel: (0121) 464 4000

Fax: (0121) 303 5098

Albert.Bore@birmingham.gov.uk


Deputy Leader of the Council

Councillor Ian Ward

Tel: (0121) 303 1292

Fax: (0121) 303 5098

Ian.Ward@birmingham.gov.uk


Conservative Group

Leader of Group: Councillor Robert Alden

Deputy Leader of Group: Councillor Randal Brew

Group Secretary: Councillor Anne Underwood

Group Office

Tel: (0121) 303 2130

Fax: (0121) 303 1371

Conservative.Councillors@birmingham.gov.uk

Labour Group

Leader of Group: Councillor Sir Albert Bore

Deputy Leader of Group: Councillor Ian Ward

Group Secretary: Councillor Valerie Seabright

Group Office

Tel: (0121) 303 2039

Fax: (0121) 303 1304

Labour.Councillors@birmingham.gov.uk


Liberal Democrat Group

Leader of Group: Councillor Paul Tilsley

Deputy Leader of Group: Councillor Jon Hunt

Group Secretary: Councillor Mike Ward

Group Office

Tel: (0121) 303 4204

Fax: (0121) 303 3415

Liberal.Democrat.Councillors@birmingham.gov.uk

Birmingham Liberal Democrats' Website